Fantasy College Football Re-alignment (Updated for 2018)

College football is about to undergo a sea change. In a few years, the Power Five conferences will break away from the NCAA to create their own organization. The focus will be on football, but the other sports will fall into line, because college sports are all about football, aren't they?

Right now, the five power conferences are out of balance. They range from 14 members (Big Ten, SEC) to ten (Big Eight). This needs to be fixed, and if I ruled the world, this is how it would work out.

Below is a fantasy lineup of the current 130 FBS teams. They are divided into seven conferences made mostly of the current Power Five teams, and six conferences of the rest. Each conference has ten teams. To get seventy P5 (now P7) teams, I pulled in five teams not currently in a P5 conference: Boise State, BYU, Colorado State, Houston, and South Florida. There are no independent teams.

The remaining six conferences are called the Group of Six.

The regular season would be reduced to eleven games for all conferences, every team playing a complete nine-game conference schedule. In the two remaining games, a P7 team would be required to play at least one P7 non-conference opponent, and must play a P7 non-conference opponent on the road every other year. A P7 team may not play an FCS opponent. G6 teams may play an FCS opponent only once every other year.

There would be no conference championship games.

The national championship would be an eight-team playoff among the P7 conference champions and the best P7 non-champion. The eight teams would be seeded by rankings. Post-season play for G6 teams would be in bowls only.

The first round of playoff games among the eight qualifiers would be held in the first weekend in December. The four winners would go to the National Playoff in January, while the four losers would be eligible for a regular bowl game.

Power Seven
    Atlantic Coast
  • Clemson
  • Duke
  • Florida State
  • Georgia Tech
  • Miami (FL)
  • North Carolina
  • North Carolina State
  • South Carolina
  • South Florida
  • Wake Forest
    Big Eight
  • Colorado
  • Houston
  • Iowa State
  • Kansas
  • Kansas State
  • Louisville
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • Oklahoma
  • Oklahoma State
    Big Ten
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Michigan
  • Michigan State
  • Minnesota
  • Northwestern
  • Ohio State
  • Purdue
  • Wisconsin
  • Boston College
  • Maryland
  • Notre Dame
  • Penn State
  • Pittsburgh
  • Rutgers
  • Syracuse
  • Virginia
  • Virginia Tech
  • West Virginia
  • Boise State
  • California
  • Oregon
  • Oregon State
  • Stanford
  • UCLA
  • USC
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • Washington State
  • Alabama
  • Auburn
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • LSU
  • Mississippi
  • Mississippi State
  • Tennessee
  • Vanderbilt
  • Arizona
  • Arizona State
  • Arkansas
  • Baylor
  • BYU
  • Colorado State
  • TCU
  • Texas
  • Texas A&M
  • Texas Tech

Group of Six
  • Army West Point
  • Buffalo
  • Cincinnati
  • Connecticut
  • East Carolina
  • Massachusetts
  • Memphis
  • Navy
  • Temple
  • UCF
  • Air Force
  • North Texas
  • Rice
  • SMU
  • Texas State
  • Tulane
  • Tulsa
  • UTEP
  • UTSA
  • Wyoming
  • Akron
  • Ball State
  • Central Michigan
  • Eastern Michigan
  • Kent State
  • Miami (OH)
  • Northern Illinois
  • Ohio
  • Toledo
  • Western Michigan
  • Bowling Green
  • Florida Atlantic
  • Florida International
  • Louisiana Tech
  • Louisiana-Lafayette
  • Louisiana-Monroe
  • Marshall
  • Middle Tennessee State
  • Southern Mississippi
  • Western Kentucky
  • Fresno State
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • New Mexico State
  • San Diego State
  • San Jose State
  • UNLV
  • Utah State
    Sun Belt
  • Appalachian State
  • Arkansas State
  • Charlotte
  • Coastal Carolina
  • Georgia Southern
  • Georgia State
  • Old Dominion
  • South Alabama
  • Troy
  • UAB